DPP’s You elected speaker as new legislative session starts

Taipei, Feb. 1 (CNA) Veteran politician You Si-kun (???) of the ruling Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) was elected speaker of the Legislative Yuan Saturday on the opening day of a new legislative session, garnering 73 votes from the 113 lawmakers.

With his election, 72-year-old You becomes the second DPP member to preside over Taiwan's lawmaking body, where his party holds a majority of 61 seats.

In addition to support from the DPP, You's candidacy for the speaker's seat was also supported by pan-green lawmakers, including three from the New Power Party (NPP) and one from the Taiwan Statebuilding Party (TSP), as well as three independents and five Taiwan People's Party (TPP) lawmakers.

You, one of the founding members of the DPP in 1986, was chair of the party from 2006-2007. He previously served as the nation's premier from 2002-2005 though he has never been elected as a lawmaker.

The speaker's election was held after the 113 lawmakers were sworn in earlier Saturday to begin their four-year-terms in the 10th Legislature which opened in Taipei, following the Jan. 11 legislative election.

You's main rival, Kuomintang (KMT) candidate Lai Shyh-bao (???), received 36 votes in the speaker's election, two fewer than the seats his party holds in the Legislature.

In the January election, the DPP won 61 seats, compared with the 68 it won in 2016, giving it a cushion of four seats above the 57 seats needed for a majority in the 113-seat Legislature.

The main opposition KMT won 38 seats, while two pan-green (pro-DPP) parties; the NPP and TSP took three seats and one seat, respectively.

The TPP, formed in August 2019 by Taipei Mayor Ko Wen-je (???), became the third largest party in the Legislative Yuan following last month's election.

Although the party did not win any directly elected seats, it won 11.2 percent of the political party vote ,which gave it five legislator-at-large seats.

In the Legislature, 73 lawmakers are directly elected in geographical constituencies in a winner-take-all vote, six seats are reserved for indigenous candidates elected by indigenous voters, and 34 are designated as at-large seats and allocated based on a separate political party vote and party list of candidates.

A political party has to win at least 5 percent of the party vote to be eligible for a share of the at-large seats.

Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel