Health ministry to promote cooperation with SE and SEA countries

The Ministry of Health and Welfare has mapped out a plan to strengthen cooperation with countries covered under the government’s New Southbound Policy in the areas of health and medical care.

The New Southbound Policy is aimed at forging closer ties with India, New Zealand, Australia and ASEAN member countries. ASEAN refers to the Association of Southeast Asian Nations.

Under the plan, the ministry will inject NT$1.6 billion (US$53.3 million) over four years into its cooperation with eight key countries, starting next year. They include India, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam, the Philippines, Malaysia, Cambodia and Myanmar.

Health Minister Chen Shih-chung said on Monday the government wants to strengthen regional epidemic prevention and set up a mechanism in which medicine, clinical trials and drug inspections are mutually recognized.

Chen also said Taiwan is planning to train 200 medical care workers for the eight key countries every year. It also hopes the island’s quality medical care will be able to attract more than 100,000 people to seek medical treatment in Taiwan four years after the plan is in place.

Source: Radio Taiwan International