New Southbound policy: Simplified visa rules take effect

Simplified visa regulations for holders of passports from nations covered under the New Southbound policy went into effect on Thursday.

The New Southbound policy is one of President Tsai Ing-wen's cornerstone development strategies. It aims boost economic, cultural, and tourism exchanges between Taiwan and nations of South and Southeast Asia, as well as Australia and New Zealand.

The new regulations allow citizens from India, Indonesia, the Philippines, Vietnam, Myanmar, Cambodia and Laos who have obtained a Taiwan visa in the past 10 years to apply online for a ROC Travel Authorization Certificate.

The measures also allow business travelers from Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Iran to apply for an eVisa.

Source: Radio Taiwan International