Taiwan, Nova Scotia reach driver’s license agreement

Taipei--Taiwan has reached a reciprocal driver's license agreement with the Canadian province of Nova Scotia, the ninth province in Canada with which Taiwan has forged such an arrangement, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said Tuesday.

The agreement, which took effect on Tuesday, allows licensed drivers from Taiwan and the Canadian province to apply to obtain a license in each other's territory without having to take road or written tests, the ministry said in a statement.

It said the new initiative will create greater convenience for Taiwanese citizens working, studying and living in Nova Scotia.

Nova Scotia is one of Canada's four Atlantic provinces and the second smallest of the 10 provinces in the North American country.

In addition to Nova Scotia, Taiwan also has reciprocal driver's license agreements with eight other Canadian provinces: Quebec, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario and Saskatchewan.

It also has similar agreements with more than 20 U.S. states, including Maryland, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Washington, West Virginia, Oregon, Arizona, Alabama, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Nevada, Tennessee, Colorado, Virginia and Kentucky.

Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel