Taiwanese eligible to apply for Russia’s new e-visa starting 2021: MOFA

Taipei,  Taiwan has been included among several other countries eligible to apply for Russia’s new electronic visa program effective next year, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) said on Thursday.

In a statement, the foreign ministry said it welcomed the initiative, which it believes will help promote cooperation and exchanges on the basis of existing bilateral relations.

MOFA’s comments came after the Moscow-Taipei Coordination Commission on Economic and Cultural Cooperation (MTC) on Thursday posted on Facebook announcing that Russia was launching a unified electronic visa starting 2021.

“According to the Government of the Russian Federation’s directive, foreign nationals, including Taiwan residents, planning to visit Russia with tourism, business, humanitarian and guest purposes, can enter via the specially equipped checkpoints and travel throughout the country,” the post read.

It added that the duration of a stay has been extended from 8 to 16 days and that the visa fee is US$40, but free for children under 6 years old.

According to foreign media reports, the new e-visa program is available to 52 countries, including Denmark, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, Finland, and Taiwan.


Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *