Visa-free program extended for Brunei, Philippine, Thai nationals

Taipei, Taiwan on Thursday announced that it is extending a trial 14-day visa-free entry program for nationals from Brunei, the Philippines and Thailand for another year, starting Aug. 1.

"The measure is being continued to attract visitors from New Southbound Policy partner countries for tourism and business purposes, and to increase people-to-people exchanges," MOFA said in a statement.

It will be effective through July 31, 2019 and could be extended again if a review of the results prove successful, it noted.

Taiwan first enacted the measure in August 2016. The visa-free policy has achieved its expected effects, MOFA said.

According to statistics from the Tourism Bureau, nationals from New Southbound Policy partner countries made a total of 2,284,382 visits to Taiwan in 2017, a significant year-on-year increase of 27.65 percent over the 1,789,503 visits made in 2016.

MOFA said the decision to give an extension was made following a June 11 interministerial meeting convened by MOFA and attended by officials from government agencies overseeing national security, police administration, investigation, immigration, tourism, economy and trade.

MOFA reminded that those who wish to make use of the visa-free entry to Taiwan are required to hold a passport valid for at least six months, a confirmed return plane or boat ticket, or a confirmed plane or boat ticket along with a valid visa for an onward destination.

They should also provide confirmation of hotel reservations or an address and contact details for their stay in Taiwan, a financial statement and have a clean criminal record, as verified at immigration on arrival at an airport or seaport in Taiwan.

Source: Focus Taiwan News Channel